Listen Live
HomeNewsParry Sound and area 2022 Municipal Election Unofficial Summary of Results

Parry Sound and area 2022 Municipal Election Unofficial Summary of Results

The 2022 Municipal election is in the books and unofficial results for Parry Sound have incumbent Jamie McGarvey re-elected as Mayor. 

The three incumbent councillors, Paul Borneman, Doug C McCann and Bonnie Keith were all returned. New faces around the Council table are Chris McDonald, George Ashford and Joe Belesky. 

The unofficial results for the School board trustees have Howard Wesley set to represent the Near North District School Board as the English Public School Board trustee, and Joshua Boutotte representing the Simcoe Muskoka Catholic District Separate School Board.

According to the Town of Parry Sound’s Clerk, 2,212 votes were cast in this year’s municipal election. There are 5,257 eligible voters in Parry Sound, placing the participation rate at 42.1 per cent – an over eight per cent drop from the 2018 election’s 50.9 per cent.

Outside of Parry Sound, Mayor Ann MacDiarmid was acclaimed in Seguin Township. Councillors elected were Ken Adams, Mario Buszynski, Greg Getty, and Ted Collins. Acclaimed Councillors were Terry Fellner, and Gail Finnson.

- Advertisement -

In Carling Township, Susan Murphy is Mayor, with councillors Lisa Cook, Al Doubrough, Bruce Kelly and Pam Wing.

In McDougall, Dale Robinson is returned as Mayor who’ll be joined by Councillors Kathy Hamer, Joe Ryman, Joel Constable, and J.J. Blower.

A 3-way race for Mayor in McKellar, saw David Moore come out on top and will be joined by Councillors Mike Kekkonen, Morley Haskim, Nick Ryeland and Debbie Zulak.

In Whitestone, Mayor George Comrie was acclaimed. Councillors elected were Janice Bray, Joe Lamb, Scott Nash and Brian Woods. All positions in the Archipelago were acclaimed.

All these results remain unofficial.

***With files from Kent Matheson

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading