Listen Live
HomeNewsUPDATE: PC Graydon Smith unofficially elected in Parry Sound-Muskoka

UPDATE: PC Graydon Smith unofficially elected in Parry Sound-Muskoka

- Advertisement -

10:30 PM Update

PC candidate Graydon Smith has been unofficially re-elected in Parry Sound-Muskoka, with 94 out of 96 of the riding’s polls having reported. 

Polls in the 43rd Ontario election have closed and the counting has begun.

Residents across Parry Sound-Muskoka and the rest of Ontario voted today on election day. Here is a look at the unofficial local results:

Graydon Smith, Progressive Conservatives Party of Ontario: 20,061 votes

Matt Richter, Green Party of Ontario: 17,961 votes

Erin Horvath, NDP: 3,374 votes

Andrew John Cocks, Ontario Party: 1,634 votes

Doug Maynard, New Blue Party of Ontario: 871 votes

- Advertisement -

Daniel Predie Jr., Independent: 155 votes

Brad Waddell, Populist Party of Ontario: 124 votes

This article will be updated throughout the night with the latest local results

It’s a majority government for Premier Doug Ford and his Progressive Conservative Party. In his victory speech Ford said the PC party has made history and thanked voters in Ontario. He said the victory is not for him or the PC party but a victory for the people of Ontario.

The PC party is elected or leading in 81 ridings, followed by the NDP in 29 ridings and the Liberals elected or leading in 9 ridings and the Greens with 1 riding. The NDP will form the Official Opposition again for the next four years.

Liberal leader Steven Del Duca has lost his own riding in Vaughan Woodbridge meaning the leader will not have a seat at Queen’s Park. The Liberals will remain without official party status. Green Party leader Mike Schreiner has also been reelected in his riding.

With files from Wendy Gray

- Advertisement -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -

Continue Reading