Listen Live
HomeNewsMunicipal election nomination period closes

Municipal election nomination period closes

There are six new names in the race for Parry Sound Council.

The nomination deadline has passed. Chris O’Gram is the third person to throw his hat in the ring for Mayor.  He will run against Dave Williams and incumbent Jamie McGarvey.

There are 13 vying for council seats, with five newcomers submitting their papers in the last week. They are Mark Aman, Vanessa Backman, Jamie Chapman, George Ashford and Brian Fisher.

Only four of the six councillors are seeking re-election, which means the council has entered a lame duck period.

- Advertisement -

In a lame duck, council gives up authority to the Chief Administrative Officer on adding or subtracting items from the budget valued over $50,000 and on hiring or firing an employee.

 A lame duck council occurs when less than 75-percent of council applies for re-election and will continue until the official start of the new term in December.

The four councillors seeking re-election are; Brad Horne, Doug McCann, Bonnie Keith and Paul Borneman.  The election is October 22nd.

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading